Eating in Seoul: 명동교자 Myeongdong Gyoza


In Seoul, I have this little ritual every Friday. I have a fixed route that I take that brings me from Gangnam to Myeongdong to Sinchon and ends at Hongdae. These are my favourite hangout spots, and Myeongdong is usually the one that holds me up for hours on end.

Myeongdong is a great place for lunch with plenty of restaurants (quite a number opened by foreigners) and one of them is the famed 명동교자 Myeongdong Gyoza. It’s pretty easy to locate. From Myeongdong (Line 4), take Exit 8 and walk straight down as shown:

Screen Shot 2016-05-22 at 6.00.22 PM

Once you’re there, the waiters will swoop in with a menu – but they have a very limited range of food, just a few types of 칼국수 knife noodles and of course, the famous gyoza. The gyoza goes for ₩10,000 / 10 pcs. You pay upon placing your order, which I love. It’s so fuss-free, you sit down, you order, you pay, eat and get lost. 😀

Honestly I never thought dumplings could taste so good. I mean, how much variation can there be? But this is the real deal. The dumpling’s meat is savoury – I suspect they marinade the dumplings overnight. After countless servings of dumplings, I can say the quality is quite consistent – the skin is always the right texture and the dumplings, well they’re sometimes saltier but never so much so that I’d write it off as a bad serving.

Also, the food comes quick, from the moment you place your order, the food comes within 10 minutes or so. I’ve never even waited up to 10 minutes before. I guess it’s their way of telling you “faster eat, faster go”. I tried the knife noodles and they sorely lose out in comparison to the dumplings so I suggest trying the dumplings before heading back out onto the streets for street food.

Favourite haunt in Myeongdong. I miss this so much!

If you need directions or help, my Kakao ID is @chelseasj or you can Telegram me!

Leave a Reply

