May Favourites

IMG_4870

 

Ah, I feel like May passed way too quickly. Where has all the time gone? May was minimal makeup month because for most days I was too overwhelmed with worry and work to go out of the house with anything more than the basic.

First, skincare. The Tarte Maracuja C-Brighter Eye Treatment was my eye cream pick of the month. It is pretty steep in pricing but it provides good hydration for the undereye area and helps concealer go on smoother. It’s a slightly thick, viscous white cream that aims to brighten up the eye area. Haven’t noticed much in that department, but it sure does moisturize well! I’ve been wearing the Nars Creamy Concealer in Custard most this month, with occasional appearances from the more hydrating Tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer and the Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Eye Cream. In any case, it keeps thin skin in the undereye area hydrated and moisturized enough to avoid creasing. Be careful and use a small amount of this though, or you could be prone to milia seeds!

Moving on to the lip products – two contenders this month. One of them is a long-time favourite, the Burt’s Bees Rejuvenating Lip Balm with Acai Berry. I’ve used the Mango flavoured one and the Kokum butter one previously but this one tops all for its pleasing scent and matte finish (compared to the Kokum butter’s glossy finish). Definitely a must-have!

Next on the list is the second lip product for this month, YSL Rouge Volupte Shine in No. 15 Corail Intuitive. This was Janice’s gift to me for my birthday and I left it sitting for about 2 months because I was into bolder lipsticks then, but when I dug it out again I fell head over heels in love! It’s a sheer, warm pink that’s slightly milky but very glossy indeed. It lives up to its promise of being moisturizing with great colour payoff at the same time. This lipstick goes perfect with a subtle, warm pink blush, and is great for completing softer looks. I’ve used this for about 10 days straight this month – and that’s a record!

Last of all, I’ve really come to appreciate my Jo Malone Cologne in Earl Grey and Cucumber. Strange-sounding scent, and perhaps a little old, but I love it. It doesn’t have much wear time and usually sillage fades after about 6 hours. Not the longest wearing scent, and this cannot be used with a Travalo either, but it’s a refreshing scent to have in the morning. Absolutely love this scent, and I can see myself using this all the way until the entire 100ml bottle finishes!

//

That’s all for the month of May, and a lot of favourites came in late for the month, so I’ll be excited to share them in the June favourites!

Leave a Reply

