Blogtember: Pearls of Wisdom

Cr: x

In a bid to make my September more fruitful, I’ve decided to take on two challenges, namely, the Blogtember Challenge by Story Of My Life and the 30 Day LFT Challenge by Live For Tmw (to be done on Instagram). Of course, I won’t be posting excessively, just whatever inspires me. So do keep an eye on this space as well as my Instagram, I promise you it’ll be an exciting month!

 Let’s begin with the first prompt:

Pass on some useful advice or information you learned and always remembered.

Because I was brought up in a very Chinese family, there are certain life lessons Grandma taught me that I will remember for life.

“帮你是人情,不帮你是道理“

To help you is a favour, and not to help you is logic.

Impactful words.

I remember having moments when I was young where I’d approach someone for help and I’d be rejected. My reaction would always be one of indignance, thinking, “Why, got so hard to help me meh?” or “Come on, I’ve helped you so many times. Shouldn’t you be fair?” But this taught me that nobody owes you a favour. Having said that, if they help you, you owe them one. And if they don’t – well, it’s to be expected, isn’t it?

I live by this now. I don’t expect people to help me – as far as possible, I try to do things on my own. I believe this has an integral role in nurturing my fiercely independent streak, and overall made me a more resourceful person. When you stop asking for favours and get up and do it on your own you realize that not everything is as easy as you’ve made it out to be.

Another influence that really shaped me was one of the most prolific teachers I ever met. Since P4 she has rejuvenated and impassioned me with a love for Chinese. Not just the language – everything Chinese. Now, before P4, I was not as receptive to languages as I am now. I was a voracious reader, yes, but I hated Chinese to the core (and to those who claim that Math is a language, yes, I hated that too). As you can probably imagine it took a great deal of nudging and prodding for me to appreciate the Chinese language, all its intricacies, rich culture and history.

One of the first lessons this teacher taught me was: You must not say “I don’t know.”

Indeed, in class, she was strict about never allowing us to get away with “I don’t know.” In retrospect, I can see why. “I don’t know,” is more often used as an excuse for being lazy to think than it is used for its true meaning. She forced us to think. Never mind that the answers were usually never beyond “Umm..”, and never mind that the answers that we came up with were really crappy. The important thing was that we hadn’t given up at get-go.

The second quote she left me with was also something that I’ve never forgotten:

image

How true.

You grow your altitude by improving yourself. The more you improve yourself, the wider your scope of vision, because you now can see the world with a variety of perspectives. The wider your scope of vision, the higher your level, because you are gradually coming to understand more and more concepts of this world we live in. And as we “level up”, our state of heart grows – we become more forgiving. Loving. Peaceful. Grateful.

What are some of your pearls of wisdom?



Leave a Reply

