44 | Dream Come True.

altAkpw9eanG5_bDvtGzFCiEcNshAxKc8UdiT1-bZCt-xyJ

1/2 of the SRT TYC Playwrights, from right: Rocco, Luke, myself, Yogi! ♥

Probably since Day 1 of my playwright life I’ve always wanted to be staged. Like, have actors read my script, act it out, have someone leave impacted. I’m still a long way from there, but I had my first dramatized reading today. And while that might not seem like a lot to others, it is to me.

Six months ago, I had no knowledge of theatre whatsoever. In P4, I swore I’d never touch theatre.. and Chinese (that OMG moment when I realize my current obsession is Chinese theatre). In Secondary School, I continued hating drama and loving just the academic, literature aspect of it. Six months ago, with no prior experience in anything theatre-related, only a bunch of shifty awards from essays and poetry and a nothing to lose attitude, I signed up for Singapore Repertory Theatre’s The Young Co. Playwriting Programme (henceforth referred to as SRT TYC) and I got in with just a really lousy piece that I would burn if I could today.

Three months ago, I realized that playwriting is a lot more than just dialogue. It’s also technical, it’s personal, it’s backbreaking and most of all, it’s heartbreaking. I don’t know how many afternoons/mornings I just sat alone in cafes writing my heart out, how many times I got backaches from sitting at the computer too long, how many times I would tear up in the middle of the night writing something exceptionally close to heart.

And today, I finally got a chance to have my pieces read by TYC actors, directed by one of the most well-known directors in the local theatre industry – Daniel Jenkins.

The piece wasn’t very good (quite shitty really) but the actors lent life to it and Daniel Jenkins is a really crazy skilled director. I’m not going to even try to tell you how blown away by his directing. Let’s just say it was almost instinctual for him. From the get-go, he already detected the undertones of the play and brought it out of the play. And of course, nothing could have been achieved without the two very talented actors who took it to the stage, Jane and Vignesh! Thank you for making my dream come true. 🙂

My thoughts? I am just a very grateful girl right now, one who started out with a dream, who walked towards the dream, and aided by so many gifted, kindhearted and hardworking people along the way, am actually achieving my dreams. I feel like I’m clutching clouds now, but I’m sure if I clutch enough clouds, one day the sky will be mine. I have never been more in love with theatre, with every part of it – how the whole team works like clockwork to get pieces on stage, the intricacies of script and characters, the way theatre is my refuge and a vehicle of social commentary. Theatre is a unique experience that can’t be duplicated anywhere else. The moment the audience walks into the Black Box they come in with expectations and the potential to walk out of there transformed forever. Transformed because of your words. Your stories. Your characters. It’s so powerful – that’s why it hasn’t succumbed even though the last 400 years have been continuous technological advancements that might serve to edge theatre out. Its beauty remains resplendent and even better, ages like fine wine. But I digress.

Now I’m just off to enjoy a very well-deserved break from almost 5 full cycles of 18-hour days/6 days a week and also, off to research for new ideas and new plays/poetry on the way! 🙂

Fall down seven times, stand up eight.

One thought on “44 | Dream Come True.

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you
    wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some
    pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than
    that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

