43 | A Term Gone By.

Credits: x

IT’S OVER!!!

And just in case you didn’t hear me, let me repeat this again – IT”S OVER!!!

What’s over, you may ask? MSTs – or mid-semestral tests – I don’t really know, but they’re the polytechnic equivalent of block exams/common tests, whatever you people call it. And I am so, so glad to be over and done with it.

My first MST was actually Business Communications, where we had to do a roleplay. Everyone seems to say I’m natural acting as someone in senior positions, like CEO or Senior Manager. Guess it’s to do with my experience so far? 🙂 The fun thing was it was formal day, and because I decided to wear a dress and not be mainstream, I finally got the chance to put on my beautiful Dorothy Perkins blazer and I fell in love! It’s such a great fit.

946364_10200707576319406_493272311_n

It’s really crazy hot in the blazer but what was it they said? 爱美不要命 You love beauty, you forgo health/life.

BUT..

I’ll let you in on a little secret: I skived this term.

It wasn’t until the week before MSTs before I realized that for 4/6 of my modules, I didn’t do many, many tutorials. Some even went as far as nothing done since Tutorial 1. So for 6 weeks I’ve been skiving in class and then studying at home (which kind of works) and sometimes during lectures when I’m tired, I’ll just plug in my earpieces and write. Sigh pie, whoever said old habits die hard is right.

And my weakest subject is, no doubt, anything that is remotely numerical. I mean it, Statistics, for example. It took me 3 hours to reattempt an online quiz until I got full marks, and even then it was like playing a game of chance. I was overjoyed when I finally completed it. The probability of me winning a lucky draw might really have been even higher! So many times I felt like just settling for less than perfect but no I know I need those marks and yes it was a test of resolve, I’m so glad I didn’t give up though. It’s been very long since I forced myself to persist in anything this bad. Felt like it taught me a mini lesson. So it was worth it, maybe?

But but but, the crux is that I’ve learnt my lesson and I’m going to work doubly hard next term (okay fine, it’s because it’s double the weightage and I don’t want to forward any modules) but yes, I’m going to really work hard next term! I wallow in remorse this term for everything that I didn’t study for, alright? In fact, I only am up to speed with my two favourite modules, Business Communications and Management & Organizational Behaviour. This is so typical of ENFPs, getting all distracted. BC was good for me because it was well, talking. And everyone knows that talking is no issue for me (what an understatement – it’s like my life mission to outtalk everyone) and MOB is even better because it’s content-based and really interesting to study!

Speaking of MOB, let me introduce to you my group for MOB CA,

picture014

From top left, Syahirah, Kaiyang.
On the bottom row left: Carol, myself, Janice (sorry babe xoxo)

picture013

HR Studio when we have our lovely sessions. It’s a one-way mirror by the way.

This was taken the Monday before MST began, and I like how I have that healthy glow on my cheeks (it’s gone now, no prizes for guessing why) and how everyone is just chillaxing and having a blast!

So, just a short note of appreciation to my MOB group:

I wouldn’t be writing this if I didn’t mean every word of it. I mean, if it had been that I just thought you guys were an OK group, I wouldn’t even be considering this post, but because you guys made me so happy while doing the MOB project, here you are in the hall of fame! Haha. I love how although we have no leader, all of us took turns to lead and everybody did their parts and more. Of all the groups I’ve worked with all my life, you guys have to be one of the most productive, fun-loving and cooperative ones. I love how we supported each other during the games, rejoiced when we topped the class for the games, joked around, made faces, acted crazy. You guys are the best, thank you for making my first major project in polytechnic such a memorable one! 🙂 You guys really gave your best and then more. The rest of the sentiments were already expressed in the Whatsapp group, but a big, big THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart again! May I have the honour of working with you all again – Kaiyang, Janice, Carol, Syah. ♥

I had the privilege of going to Theatre Practice’s Playwright’s Boot Camp 2013 (实践剧场-编剧操练营2013) and from first session on, I loved it. But not the travelling there. It’s at Stamford Arts Centre, where the nearest MRT is Bugis. I left school early, headed to Bugis, spent about 45 minutes walking around trying to find the place. Apparently I walked all the way to Singapore Arts Museum, which is near Bras Basah MRT already. Oh well, at least now I know everywhere (Bras Basah, Clarke Quay, Dhoby Ghaut and Bugis) are all within walking distance of each other! But I must say, Bugis is such a nice place to get lost in 🙂 I loved the buildings, they all look so rustic and I was enjoying myself, listening to music and just strolling along the streets – or rather, as far as strolling goes with a 1.8kg laptop and a heavy bag.

So as I reached Stamford Arts Centre 2 hours early, I went to the uptown German cafe along the street:

WP_000251

And got myself Blackforest Cake and Cappucino for SGD 18!

The cappucino was heavenly! It’s no secret that I dislike really aromatic coffee but this tasted good even when the ice melted. I don’t know how either. And look at that cute serviette that I couldn’t bear to use! Okay, here comes the funny part: I didn’t read the fine print on the menu, I just got whatever the waitress recommended, and true to her recommendation, the black forest cake was heavenly, until I got to the lower layers. Then I realized that there was alcohol – vodka – in the cake. So I went for Playwright’s Boot Camp with a reaaaally nice flush on my cheeks. Sigh!

Playwright’s Boot Camp was fantastic, I loved it so much! It had been so long since I’d been submerged and drowned in not just Chinese, but English, complex ideas and discussion that was so much like Literature lessons. I love it! There and then I made up my mind to go for every session coming up because hey, something that makes you that happy can’t be missed. I remember I came home tired as hell, galloped to Mummy beaming like I just struck the lottery, and danced around hugging her for a full five minutes. That’s how happy I was. 

I shall now succumb to temptation to talk about my recent theatre events. 🙂

Basically, I’ve still been going for TYC every week faithfully (I’m the only one who can boast full attendance, an achievement right?) and on Sunday I attended a playwriting workshop by local playwright Chong Tze Chien who has written some of the most thought-provoking pieces like Poop! and Charged that I enjoyed so much. I think his lesson was more than informative, it gave me clear direction on the kind of writing I should be doing. Just got to work a bit harder on my playwriting. I have a horrible tendency to give up on something once the novelty wears off and I’m just pressing on with playwriting now because it’s not easy and the novelty wore off very, very quickly. I found my writing becoming more and more forced, with no new ideas every week, or rejecting it even before I began typing. Before I knew it, it nearly spiralled into me fearing to put words on paper. And we all know that’s a really slippery slope. So right now, all I’m doing is writing. Even if I get crazy writing prompts and I write shit, I’m still going to write, because the only way to have anything to edit, is to have something on paper first!

My theatre commitments also take me out of tchoukball for 2 weeks this coming June 😦 I’m upset but it can’t be helped. Theatre performances only come once and well.. I guess I can catch up on tchoukball when I’m back. I really loved tchoukball buffet though. Food was good, company was good. 🙂

altAtDH852RUXenMO5HrhjJgC9Jo4XloDahl1FEyr2CnB23

Every single shot taken was blurry but basically, these are some very awesome Tchoukers! 🙂

Oh, on the topic of good food – family and I headed to a restaurant at Forum Galleria to celebrate Mother’s Day, and I saw the hugest crabs of my life:

WP_000249

What’s that again? A crab, you say?

Guys, that thing is the stuff of my nightmares!! How can a crab grow to such ginormous sizes, it’s not just freaky, it’s very very scary! D:

And because when I am sad, melancholic or just not feeling very peppy, good food and coffee cheer me up, I headed to Tiong Bahru a few times during the weeks leading up to MST. I remember telling the cashier that I went there for good food as a “pre-exam treat” and Liansheng scoffed at me! Haha. That was a particularly enjoyable afternoon (after which I rushed back to SP for tchoukball dinner) where we basically explored Tiong Bahru, spent time in BooksActually, then went to Flock Cafe!

In retrospect, sometimes I just need quiet friends to keep me company. Otherwise, the noise of the world kind of gets me down. Due to the nature of my schedule having 2-3 weeks of very packed activity with only half a day (or one full day, if I’m that lucky) for rest in between those weeks, by the time I finish 1-3 cycles of these weeks, I’m more than just tired. I’m basically drained. I have nothing left to offer the world because I’ve given all my love and effort, and then some. So during that period, I need about 5-7 days of recovery before I’m back on form and ready to go again.

I remember I went to Tiong Bahru that day feeling more than just a little world-weary and sick of nonsense, but I left feeling so energized and positive. 🙂 Thankful for people like these who remind me what’s worth really living for and for making life even more beautiful.

And also, many many thanks to Flock Cafe for being my shelter! It always has seats to take me in when I’m at my lowest, friendly staff and food that’s screaming to be savoured. It’s quiet, has a nice ambience, is very nicely lighted up and I really love this place. Let me show you:

484700_10200797835895839_341292857_n

Queue number: I’m lazy, so I love it when I don’t have to carry my own food back to the table. 🙂

942945_10200797851456228_1755541321_n

Pain au chocolat (which is perfect for melancholic days) and my favourite iced mocha!

Speaking of which, I even brought Mummy there once! I think she enjoyed the experience too 🙂 How do you not love quaint cafes like that? Conducive for writing, for relaxing, for thinking. You can be sure the owner’s going to see me a lot during the June holidays! It’s like my little corner away from the world 🙂

And this is where I escaped today to celebrate end of MSTs, before I came back to school for a youth entrepreneurship forum. For those in tertiary education, you might know that JWEF (Junior World Entrepreneurship Forum) is coming soon, and there are many fringe events popping up here and there. I previously attended one dialogue session with an entrepreneur, the founder of Dragon Boat Innovate (who had an integral part to play in the recent DBS Marina Regatta) and today’s session was a session with Mr Chung Tin Fai, a lawyer, who basically gave me more information on the legal details of forming a company of my own. I’m still toying with the idea though.. we’ll see.

Ended my very eventful day with a dinner with Lynn, a longtime friend of a decade! We’ve done the craziest things together (and we still do crazy things) so it was nice to have her for company – plus did I mention she only stays four floors above me? 🙂

Oh, and I found a tub of blueberry Yami Yogurt when I came home from Playwright’s Boot Camp on Monday.. Guess who dropped it off? Yes, Rachel, my dear dear sis, who dropped off this tub of love just before MST week! Love you xoxo.

.

.

.

Very long post to make up for my absence of 2 weeks (that’s 1,200 words per week for this post – a testament of my ability to bullshit about anything and everything) and I have been through probably the most crazy sentiments: feeling speechless/unable to articulate myself appropriately (it doesn’t happen really often), wondering why I bother with certain people, cussing at people in my head, being demoralized and disillusioned, but it’s always the people closest to my heart who remind me that they, not the ones who don’t matter, are worth fighting for, worth loving, worth giving it all up for. 🙂 And if I so choose not to be affected then nothing anyone says can break through, right? Yes. 力拔山 气盖世 With the strength to move mountains and the spirit to take on the world. 🙂

So in the coming weeks, I’m going to make it my goal to do what I have to do with no complaints (because this is the path I chose) and to enjoy what I do (to make it easier for myself) and to ignore and brush off people who just like to be the negative voice inside your head manifested in real life. Can’t make them shut up or go away but I can choose not to let it infiltrate my mind. Ain’t nobody got time for that negativity and stagnancy yo! What a waste of precious time, energy and youth. Nah, I’d much rather move on to new ventures, new discoveries, newfound passions.

Cheers to a most exhausting, tiring holiday – but one that’s going to be value-added, spent meaningfully and with much learning!

When the going gets tough I remember you all, who remind me who’s worth my time and effort. 

Leave a Reply

