26 | Quaint Alleys.

altAsJnDFaByOmPAoUxEbBQ53DtatveyZoPrjXtwYZcY9ye

Went on a crazy mission to find BooksActually at Tiong Bahru today, and thanks to lovely Baogey, we managed to find it without getting lost! Promptly went crazy in the store, according to Elainn, I was smiling to myself.

altAlknb_66h0ZPUAsNItewHxr5kmpfZ1XsnIRldCpC5VRz

The whole store looked so quaint and so.. homely. I loved it! Bought two local works, The Billion Shop by Stephanie Ye and Careless by Jacqueline Ong. Was quite taken by Careless on first read and it truly hasn’t disappointed! 🙂 And because there was a 20% discount for 3 books, I bought Walks in the Wheat Fields by Richard Jefferies.

31900_10200296308117958_830893138_n

To be honest, I bought it because the cover had a bunny on it. I just can’t resist good covers! Also got a notepaper set for my new quotes collation book.

525246_10200296312398065_272374011_nQuote by Anaïs Nin 🙂

We then proceeded to Woods in the Books where I ended up buying 2 postcards that I simply couldn’t resist. I will definitely be heading back! Just being in the store makes me happy – there’s Beatrix Potter, A. A Milne (author of Pooh) and classics such as Wind in the Willows, all beautifully illustrated and so, so quaint.

67303_10200296320718273_1918099911_n

Elainn had been asking me out for cafe hunting trips since November but I kept putting it off but today I was truly hooked. We went to Drips cafe and lo and behold, I had some of the most exceptional banana cake ever! Enjoyed an ice mocha and a nice afternoon catching up with Elainn.

altAnOP6Hfwt6jsqfBm9KKNSiHaFXhqcCxlsOstAsH_qmJl

Our next stop was Commonwealth for Elainn’s Starbucks interview. If I’ve got a barista friend, you can bet my caffeine intake is going to skyrocket. And to hell with the calories, I couldn’t care less. While she was having her interview, I finished a most wonderful play – Everything But the Brain. I really, really loved it, and got inspired to try out having 3 narrators in my play. This device was used in The Good Person of Szechwan by Bertolt Brecht (which is my favourite play of all time) and I’ll have fun toying around with this idea!

I really loved today – it’s one of the few days I actually totally relaxed and enjoyed myself. Books fill both my head and heart with so much! And possibly, this is the reason why I write – to fill someone else’s head and heart with unique emotion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

