10 | Drumroll & Fanfare

Because I’ve been back working and translating at OneTVXQ (big shoutout to you lovely publishers & translators!) and also for SU4JYJ (you guys are the bomb too!) I’ve been back full-time into Kpop! So I thought maybe it’s time to share a few solo artistesI’m in love with. 🙂

AILEE

She’s a third-generation Korean-American born in Denver, Colorado, U.S.A. She’s from YMC Entertainment, has worked with Eru, Wheesung and Johnnyphlo before, and is just a vocal powerhouse. What I like about her? She outrightly admits that her favourite food is meat, isn’t afraid of confessing truthfully to how much she weighs, and is so at home, confident and natural onstage. She is all charm and I don’t know how anyone can dislike her, rather truthfully.

Check out her debut single “Heaven”, and comeback performances of “I Will Show You”.

LEE HI

Pronounced as Lee Ha-yi, or hi as we would normally say, NOT Lee Hee. Runner-up of SBS 2011 Survival Kpop Star and signed on with YG Entertainment. Recently YGE has been tending more towards the hiphop styles you see in 2NE1 and Bigbang so I was wondering how they would manage her but it seems that I forgot about Lexy, Gummy, and the bunch of other power voices that they manage, or used to manage. She’s also very charming, and has been slaying ’em charts with her debut single “1.2.3.4” Take a look at it below.

G-DRAGON 

His real name is Kwon Jiyong which IMO is like the most fitting name for him. Was a former SM trainee, ended up with YGE, is a singer-songwriter-producer and is rich due to the 107 song royalties under his name. He exudes this quiet confidence and charm with I cannot, cannot resist. Also, his rapping is very versatile and it can be soothing or full of swag depending on his mood I guess. He has sick dance moves as well. How? He’s perfect!

Check out his newest solo album “ONE OF A KIND”‘s title track Crayon.

KIM JUNSU

Friends, friends. If you knew me from before this man, then I must say, you and I go back a long way. Debuted in 2003 with scumbag company SM Entertainment, under the legendary TVXQ (which I also love, but that’s a story for next time). More striking things about him I can think of right now is that he has a village named after him in Cambodia, the “Xiah Junsu village”, has sparked something called the “Junsu effect” which means that if he is in a particular musical, after 10 minutes of the tickets going on sale, they’re all gone, and is famous for Angel Xiah.

It’s irresistable! Ok your opinions are irrelevant. Anyway, in 2008, Jaejoong, Yoochun and Junsu filed a lawsuit against SM Entertainment which has just been permanently postponed, and joined C-Jes Entertainment amidst a whirlpool of scandals and trouble. They’re still there, and he broke into the US market just this year with “Uncommitted”. He even has his own solo album in Korea, “Tarantallegra” and it. is. awesome.

How not to love him?!

As you can probably see, I’m really quite biased towards rappers, soulful singers, and people who are confident and charming. Tsktsk, so predictable! Also, I’m in love with most of YG Family, including Psy, Se7en, Bigbang, 2NE1, but this are the artists I love love. So yeah. 🙂

Also, because I promised someone, here are the tracks currently on loop in my iPod.

  1. 결국 (In the End) – GD
  2. Crash – B.A.P
  3. I Will Show You – Ailee
  4. 1.2.3.4 – Lee Hi
  5. A La Nanita Nana – Cheetah Girls
  6. On My Way (Brother Bear) – Phil Collins
  7. Wish You Were Here – Avril Lavigne
  8. Nothing Compares 2 U – Bo Bruce
  9. DON’T HATE ME – Epik High
  10. Try – Pink
  11. 錯的人 – 蕭亞軒
  12. It’s Art – PSY
  13. Kiss From A Rose – Katherine Jenkins
  14. 枫 – 周杰伦
  15. 我難過 – 5566
  16. One More Night – Maroon 5
  17. 煎熬 – 5566
  18. 愛不疚 – Raymond Lam
  19. Catch Me – TVXQ
  20. 追 – 张国荣

Yup, that’s it. I know my playlist is kind of jumbled and pretty odd, I mean where will you find Disney soundtracks, Canto-pop, Kpop, C-pop, oldies, and a bunch of other weird indie/pop/soul/blues artistes in one place? Alright yeah I know Cheetah Girls is a bit.. um, but Brother Bear is forgivable, because it’s my favourite Disney cartoon EVER. Also, Bo Bruce and Katherine Jenkins did retakes on these two songs by Sinnead O’Connor and Seal, so they’re awesome as well. As for the C-oldies.. Oh well, now you know my musical preferences. 🙂

Leave a Reply

